

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Chapter:-04



WORDS that MATTER:-

European Union: A group of European Capitalist countries established in 1992 founded for common goals of foreign and security policy, cooperation and home affairs. 1. OEEC :- Organisation for European Economic Cooperation established in 1948 to channel aid to West European states to cooperate on trade and economic issues.

- 2. Marshall Plan: It was introduced by America to provide financial help for revival of European economy.
- 3.ASEAN: Association of South East Asian Nations to accelerate economic growth through social progress and cultural development.

- 4. ASEAN WAY: An interaction that is informal, non-confrontationists and cooperative to promote supernational structures.
- 5.ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF): An organisation established in 1994 to promote coordination of security and foreign policy.

- 6. Special Economic Zones (SEZs): Foreign investors could set up their own enterprises in these zones.
- 7.Open Door Policy: To invite investment of capital and

technology from abroad.

8. Three Pillars of ASEAN

9. Community: ASEAN Security Community, ASEAN Economic Community, ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community.

TIMELINE :-

1.April 1951: Six West European Countries, France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg sign the Treaty of Paris establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC). 2.March 25, 1957: These six countries sign the treaties of Rome establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EURATOM).

- 3. January 1973: Denmark, Ireland and United Kingdom join the European Community.
- 4. June 1979: First direct elections to the European Parliament.

5. January 1981: Greece joins the EC.

6.The Schengen Agreement abolishes border controls among the EC numbers.

7.January 1986: Spain and Portugal join the EC.

8. October 1990: Unification of Germany.

9. February 7, 1992: Treaty of Maastricht was signed establishing the European Union.

- 10. January 1993: The single market was created.
- 11. January 1995: Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU.
- 12. January 2002: Euro, the new currency, was introduced in the 12 EU members.
- 13. May 2004: Ten new members Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary,

Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia join the EU.

14. January 2007: Bulgaria and Romania join the EU. Slovenia adopts the EURO.